"ANTONIO SCONTRINO" CONSERVATORY OF TRAPANI BACKGROUND The "Antonio Scontrino" Conservatory of Music was founded in 1978, thanks to the fundamental and invaluable work of Antonino Pappalardo (1933-1992), appreciated conductor of illustrious natives of Trapani and first trustee director of the Institute (1978-1992). It was named after Antonio Scontrino (Trapani, 1950 - Florence, 1922), a famous double bass player and composer, a name that is still maintained today. Pappalardo personally followed the project and the works of the new and current headquarters, which is counted among the largest structures in Europe, inaugurated in 1996, under the guidance of Lea Pavarini, pianist, initially trustee (after professor Leonardo Pianelli, 1992- 1993) and then first director of the Trapani Conservatory (1993-2011). Initially a "detached section" of the "Vincenzo Bellini" (today "Alessandro Scarlatti") Conservatory of Palermo, the "Antonio Scontrino" Conservatory of Trapani changed its legal configuration in 1999, when it became autonomous (interministerial decree of 10.27.1999) Following the reform law n. 508/99 and subsequent decrees, the Body acquires statutory autonomy and launches, alongside the exhaustive statutory study paths, the new three-year first level and two-year second level courses, in which Italian, European and non-European students participate. Also equipped with a dance room, the Conservatory began a collaboration with the National Academy of Dance in 2004 (now no longer active). The entry into the Erasmus program, which took place in 2002, favors the insertion of the Trapani Institute in the international context and today the "Scontrino" conservatory is an active training, production and research center frequented by Italian, European and non-European students. In 2015 the International Scontrino Festival was established, now in its fourth edition, with Concerts, Masterclasses, Seminars, Workshops. In 2017 the Auditorium annexed to the Conservatory was inaugurated, in collaboration with the July Musicale Trapanese body, naming it after "Tonino Pardo" in homage to the stage name of its founder. Current director - after the brief interlude of a few months with Angelo Guaragna, conductor (2011-2012), the subsequent ministerial commissioning with Angelo Anastasi (2012-2014), the pianist Walter Roccaro, elected in 2014 for two three-year terms ( 2014-2020) is Professor Elisa Cordova, professor of Systematic Musicology, elected in 2020.